Like many other states, the drug laws in Texas are stringent and come with harsh penalties. These charges and penalties fall into four groups, with marijuana being in its own group. The charges in penalties for each group vary in seriousness.
In Texas, the minimum charge for drug possession is a Class A or Class B misdemeanor, which carries penalties of a maximum $4,000 fine and up to a year of jail time, depending on the drug in question. However, the penalties for drug possession can vary widely depending on the quantity of the drug in possession at the time of arrest, regardless of what group the drug belongs to.
Large amounts of certain controlled substances can easily bump the charge up to a first-degree felony for “drug possession with intent to distribute.” The severity of the charge can also vary depending on whether you intended to deliver the drug or not, how you concealed or stored the drug, the possession of any drug paraphernalia at the time of the arrest, if you had large amounts of cash on you at the time of the arrest, or if you have past criminal convictions or offenses.
The state organizes drugs into four groups:
As mentioned previously, there are four different penalty groups for drug charges in Texas.
As mentioned above, marijuana is in its own penalty group. This special marijuana penalty group also includes synthetic marijuana like Spice and K2, as well as other synthetic cannabinoids. The penalties for this group work a little differently; the minimum penalties can be either probation or a mandatory drug treatment program. You could even get your charges dismissed upon the successful completion of this program. However, you may face additional penalties of a jail sentence ranging from 180 days to two years as well as a $2,000 fine for possession of two ounces or less.
If you only had a small amount of marijuana in your possession, then you could get your driver’s license suspended for six months. If you had more than two ounces in possession at the time of the arrest, though, then you could face one to ten years in jail and a fine ranging from $4,000 to $50,000.
Given the highly variable nature of drug charges in Texas, it’s wise to seek experienced legal counsel on your case. Kimbrough Legal can provide you with this impassioned legal representation and help you fight for a fair sentence. To learn more about how we can help you with your case, please give us a call today.
We respect your privacy. The information you provide will be used to answer your question or to schedule an appointment if requested.
Tycha is a consummate professional and she is my top choice for estate and family matters in Hays County. Highly recommended.
Miss Kimbrough and her team are great. Together they were incredibly helpful and thoughtful throughout the legal process. In a year like 2020 stress was at a constant hig…
Truly the most professional, respectable, compassionate, and genuine person I know! She always places her clients above all else and works hard to be the best lawyer she …
Absolutely and unequivocally an EXCELLENT attorney. She is a pleasure to work with and is an all-around ethical, knowledgeable and impressively smart individual.
Kimbrough Legal, PLLC
5920 W. William Cannon Dr., Bldg 3,
Ste 400, Austin, TX 78749
Kimbrough Legal, PLLC
1777 NE Loop 410 Ste 600
San Antonio, TX 78217